Business or Pleasure?

Last week at work was very exciting for me as I was able to focus on the communications side of my education. At the beginning of the week, I focused on writing job ads to be posted for new roles we were looking to fill for our clients. It turned out to be a very rewarding project as both of my supervisors acknowledged that I had done each ad very well.

On Wednesday I was given the task of creating an advertisement for empty desks in the office hub, a clutter of businesses in the Recruitment industry. I was happy to introduce an online publishing tool, Canva. I was proud to bring this tool, which I learned from my business writing class, to my Australian business place.

On Thursday evening, I attended a Credit Management Awards dinner with my supervisor as a representative of Trace Personnel. It was important that we were represented there as many of our clients are in the Credit Management industry. Business dinners are more pleasure than work in this culture and I was delighted to be in this atmosphere and still “on the clock.” I couldn’t help but to contrast this event from something comparable in the states. At this event there was unlimited beer and wine, entertainment, and a very nice dinner that was served by waiters and waitresses. Although my professional experience is very junior, I’ve never seen anything quite like this before.

At dinner, the locals at my table were questioning a few aspects of American culture. In my opinion, I didn’t need the entertainment of the event. Answering these questions was better than a magician. One thing these locals couldn’t wrap their heads around was the very low percentage of Americans with a passport. It seems to me that for Aussies, investment in travel is near equivalent of investment in education. They can’t imagine a life without necessity for a passport. Using your holiday or vacation to see other cultures is a must. Might I mention that it also seems that Australians have money growing out of their bums.

They also were surprised by our willingness to up and move across the country for a new job. They explained to me that it is not common to move to an area of Australia outside of their region of origin. I would have imagined that this would be pretty well understood and accepted as there are so many immigrants here in Australia.

The entire evening was very enlightening as I met new local professionals and simultaneously bonded with my supervisor. What a treat it was!

On Friday, I was able to create more flyers for my company for various purposes. I really enjoy this type of marketing work and time seems to pass quickly when I am working on projects such as this.

Following the work day, my office hosted a wine and cheese gathering in our board room. Another work-place thing I have never seen, nor experienced, in the states. This setting really allows office members to grow closer. I can see how this might have a positive impact on their abilities to work as a team. I can see that our tendency to separate business and pleasure might cause us to be unconsciously cold to our employees. We continuously look at them as business, and not always as a human.

As usual, the lessons I am learning from this experience are surely going far beyond what I can consciously comprehend and verbalize. I would be lying if I said I were looking forward to leaving. Sydney, both business and pleasure, has officially stolen my heart.

Leave a Reply

